Jill Gayaldo Appointed to Rocklin City Council


The Rocklin City Council has appointed Jill Gayaldo to fill a vacant seat on City Council with a term running through December 2018.

During a special meeting on January 5, the City Council interviewed 13 candidates who applied to fill the open seat. The interview process, including Council discussion and deliberation, was open to the public.

“I’m honored to follow in the footsteps of my late father-in-law Andres ‘Hank’ Gayaldo, who was also appointed to serve on the Rocklin City Council in 1948 and served for nearly 20 years,” Gayaldo said. “I believe my experience as a Rocklin small business owner, resident and commercial landlord make me uniquely qualified and I look forward to a new Rocklin that is a Placer County destination.”

Gayaldo works as the Director for Transportation for the Elk Grove Unified School District, overseeing a department of more than 200 employees with an annual budget of approximately $14 million. She was also previously employed as the Rocklin Unified School District (RUSD) Director, Transportation.

Gayaldo’s community leadership experience includes having served as a School Site Council President at Del Oro High School, as former co-chair Chair of the Rocklin Christmas Tree lighting event and current committee member, and serving as a member of the Rediscover Rocklin business development group, Rocklin Residents Unite for Fido, and the Rocklin Historical Society.

“Ms. Gayaldo has deep historical roots in our City,” said Mayor Scott Yuill. “Her professional experience, passion, and personal connection to Rocklin make her a wonderful addition to the council. Most importantly, we have confidence that Jill will serve our citizens well.”

The City Council seat became vacant when former Councilmember Diana Ruslin resigned to move with her family to Georgia. Ken Broadway was appointed to fill the seat in September 2016, but he also ran for an open seat on Council in the November election and won, vacating the seat again.

Gayaldo will be ceremonially sworn in during the City Council meeting on Tuesday, January 10.