2019 Ruhkala Community Service Awards
Call for Nominations


The City of Rocklin is made up of people, businesses and organizations working hard every day for the betterment of the community. To honor those giving back, the City is relaunching the Ruhkala Community Service Awards in January 2019 and calling for nominations of deserving candidates.

Categories include:

  • Individual or Couple
  • Business, Group or Service Organization
  • Youth Award
  • Pioneer Award

Nominations are due by Friday, February 1 and can be submitted online at here.

“Rocklin is a growing, thriving city that retains a sense of community and small-town values,” said Jerry Mitchell, the Chair of the Community Recognition Commission which was formed to lead renewed efforts on the Ruhkala Awards and recently-dedicated Wall of Recognition. “We hope these awards will put a spotlight on the people providing valuable community volunteerism and inspire other residents to volunteer.”

Past Ruhkala Award winners have included community pillars such as: Larry Osborne, who created the annual Run Rocklin event benefiting the Matt Redding Foundation; the Rocklin Chamber of Commerce for their ongoing work in support of Rocklin businesses and the economy; and Marie A. Huson, a former Rocklin Councilmember and City Clerk who championed oak tree preservation and the development of the annual Rocklin Cleanup Day.

For more information on the Ruhkala Awards, visit the website or call the City Clerk’s office at (916)-625-5241.