On September 19, 2012 Governor Brown signed into law Senate Bill -1186 which adds a state fee of $1 on any applicant for a local business license or similar instrument or permit, or renewal thereof. The purpose of this fee is to increase disability access and compliance with construction-related accessibility requirements and to develop educational resources for businesses in order to facilitate compliance with federal and state disability laws, as specified.
On October 11, 2017, this $1 fee was extended indefinitely and, on Jan. 1, 2018 until Dec. 31, 2023, the amount was increased from $1 to $4. The fee will revert back to $1 on Jan. 1, 2024.
Effective January 1, 2018, $4 of the amount paid for new and renewal Business Licenses in the City of Rocklin is being collected to comply with this State Mandate. Under federal and state law, compliance with disability access laws is a serious and significant responsibility that applies to all California building owners and tenants with buildings open to the public (SB1186, Section 15, 4469). You may obtain information about your legal obligations and how to comply with disability access laws at the following agencies:
- Division of the State Architect
- Department of Rehabilitation
- California Commission on Disability Access
Need to Renew an Existing Business License?
Businesses located in Rocklin may now renew business licenses online up to 30 days prior to the license expiration. Locate the Account # and PIN # on your renewal form and login.
For questions about business licenses click here for link to Business License Frequently Asked Questions or contact the Finance and Administrative Services Department.